# K-554 Peptide: What Novo Acquired From Kallyope

Evidence & Research Status

Evidence LevelPreclinical / Early-Stage Research

FDA StatusNot FDA-approved for human use

Regulatory StatusResearch Use Only (RUO) — not for human consumption

Last UpdatedSeptember 21, 2026

What This Article Covers

The K-554 peptide moved from a small New York biotech to the largest name in obesity drug development on 18 September 2026, when Novo Nordisk acquired three early-stage obesity programs from…

Primary References [Fierce Biotech's report of 18 September 2026](https://www.fiercebiotech.com/biotech/refreshed-novo-corrals-three-new-early-stage-obesity-drugs-kallyope) [2026 strategic priorities announcement](https://kallyope.com/kallyope-announces-2026-strategic-priorities-for-migraine-and-metabolism-portfolio-based-on-novel-neural-circuits-platform/)

Evidence Level reflects the general state of published research for this compound category and is not a claim about the safety, efficacy, or approval status of any product sold on this site. All compounds are offered strictly for research use.

The **K-554 peptide** moved from a small New York biotech to the largest name in obesity drug development on 18 September 2026, when Novo Nordisk acquired three early-stage obesity programs from Kallyope. K-554 is the lead asset in that package, and almost everything about it is still undisclosed.

Development stage

K-554

- Preclinical
- Phase 1
- Phase 2
- Phase 3
- Regulatory review
- Approved

What has been shown in humans?

Nothing yet. No Phase 1 results for K-554 have been published, and no Kallyope-sponsored trial of the compound is listed on the federal clinical trial registry. Kallyope stated in January 2026 that the candidate was heading into first-in-human testing with single-ascending-dose data expected in the second half of 2026; Novo described it on 18 September 2026 as IND-ready. The preclinical work behind it has not appeared in a peer-reviewed journal.

Acquired by Novo Nordisk from Kallyope on 18 September 2026. Financial terms were not disclosed. The receptor target has not been named, and no sequence or structure is in the public domain.

Portal to Wellness does not sell this compound.

Accurate as of 21 September 2026. [Fierce Biotech, 18 Sep 2026](https://www.fiercebiotech.com/biotech/refreshed-novo-corrals-three-new-early-stage-obesity-drugs-kallyope)

## What was announced

Jacob Petersen, Novo’s head of global research, disclosed the acquisition in a LinkedIn post rather than a press release. According to [Fierce Biotech’s report of 18 September 2026](https://www.fiercebiotech.com/biotech/refreshed-novo-corrals-three-new-early-stage-obesity-drugs-kallyope) , the three programs are explicitly *not* incretins — the hormone class that includes GLP-1 and GIP. One is described as a “potential first-in-class peptide,” one a “follow-on small molecule” against a novel target, and one a “small molecule receptor agonist.” Petersen wrote that “the lead peptide-based candidate, K-554, is IND-ready.”

Novo has not named the targets, has not disclosed financial terms, and has not said when any of the three will enter or resume clinical testing. A Novo spokesperson confirmed to Fierce that this is a new agreement, separate from a prior Novo–Kallyope license signed in 2024.

## What Kallyope had already said

The more informative source is Kallyope’s own [2026 strategic priorities announcement](https://kallyope.com/kallyope-announces-2026-strategic-priorities-for-migraine-and-metabolism-portfolio-based-on-novel-neural-circuits-platform/) from January 2026. There, K-554 is described as a first-in-class, once-weekly injectable candidate directed at a non-incretin peptide receptor. The company states that the receptor sits within a neural circuit involved in the regulation of food intake, and that this biology is distinct from — and in the company’s framing, potentially complementary to — the GLP-1 and amylin pathways that dominate the current obesity pipeline. Kallyope has also characterised the target as being associated with non-aversive satiety signalling, which is the company’s stated rationale for pursuing it.

That January statement set out a timeline: Phase 1 entry in mid-2026, with single-ascending-dose safety, tolerability and early efficacy readouts expected in the second half of 2026.

## The timeline does not currently reconcile

This is the part worth flagging, because it is the kind of discrepancy that gets lost when a compound name starts circulating. Fierce Biotech reported that K-554 is *not* listed on Kallyope’s public pipeline page, and that no Kallyope-run trial of the asset appears on ClinicalTrials.gov. Novo’s own description — “IND-ready” — is the language used for a compound that has cleared preclinical work and is ready to begin human testing, not one that has completed it.

So a candidate that was publicly scheduled for Phase 1 entry in mid-2026, with data in H2 2026, was described in September 2026 as still ready to start. Either the trial was not initiated on the January timeline, or it was initiated without a registry entry, or the description reflects a re-start under a new owner. None of those is unusual in early clinical development. But it means the honest reading of K-554’s stage today is **preclinical, with no human data in the public record** .

## Why the category matters more than the compound

Almost the entire commercial obesity pipeline runs through three receptor families: GLP-1, GIP, and glucagon — the incretin and incretin-adjacent axis — plus amylin. Compounds we have written up recently illustrate the pattern: [NBIP-1968](https://portaltowellness.net/research/nbip-1968-triple-agonist-obesity/) is a GLP-1/GIP/glucagon triple agonist, [ASC36](https://portaltowellness.net/research/asc36-phase-1-trial-obesity/) is an amylin receptor agonist, and [petrelintide](https://portaltowellness.net/research/petrelintide-amylin-analog-phase-3/) is an amylin analogue. Even the non-peptide entrants such as [CRB-913](https://portaltowellness.net/research/crb-913-obesity-research-canyon-1/) tend to be positioned against or alongside that axis.

A first-in-class non-incretin, non-amylin peptide acting on a food-intake neural circuit is therefore a genuinely different branch of the tree. Whether that branch produces anything is entirely unresolved — preclinical differentiation and clinical differentiation are not the same thing, and the field has a long list of novel appetite-regulating targets that did not survive first-in-human testing.

## Sourceability: locked

For anyone tracking which research-pipeline compounds can actually be obtained as reference material, K-554 is at the far end of the unobtainable range, and not marginally so:

- The **receptor target has never been named publicly** by either Kallyope or Novo.
- No **sequence or structure** has been disclosed in a publication, a registry entry, or a patent that has been publicly tied to the code number.
- No **CAS registry number** is associated with it.
- It does not appear in the catalogues of the chemical suppliers that routinely list clinical-stage peptides — MedChemExpress, Cayman, Phoenix and comparable houses — because there is nothing to synthesise from.

Treat any listing claiming to offer K-554 as a red flag rather than a sourcing opportunity. A compound whose target is undisclosed cannot be independently characterised by a buyer, which means identity cannot be confirmed by any method available outside the sponsor’s own laboratory. For background on how development stage and legal status interact, see [Regulatory Pathway Labels Explained](https://portaltowellness.net/research/regulatory-pathway-labels-explained/) .

## Open questions for researchers

| Question | Status as of 21 September 2026 |
| --- | --- |
| What receptor does K-554 bind? | Undisclosed. Described only as a “non-incretin peptide receptor” in a feeding-related neural circuit. |
| Has any human been given K-554? | No public record. No registry entry, no published Phase 1. |
| What did the animal work show? | Not published. Company descriptions only. |
| Is the structure public? | No. |
| Who owns it now? | Novo Nordisk, as of 18 September 2026. Terms undisclosed. |
| When might data appear? | Kallyope’s January 2026 guidance pointed to H2 2026. Novo has issued no timeline. |

The useful discipline with a compound like this is to separate what a sponsor has *stated* from what has been *demonstrated* . For K-554 the second column is currently empty. That is not a criticism of the programme — it is simply where the compound sits, and it is worth writing down now, before the code number starts appearing in places it has no business appearing.

If you track a compound that has no coverage here, you can tell us about it on our [Request a Compound](https://portaltowellness.net/request-compound/) page, which also carries our running watchlist of pipeline compounds and whether they are obtainable at all.

*All compounds referenced in this article are available for research use only. This article is provided for informational and educational purposes. No therapeutic claims are made or implied.*

### Continue Your Research

Related Articles [Body Recomposition with GLP-1 Peptides: What the Research Shows](https://portaltowellness.net/research/body-recomposition-glp1-research/) [Visceral Fat and Metabolic Health: What Researchers Are Studying](https://portaltowellness.net/research/visceral-fat-metabolic-health-research/)

Related Products [Tirzepatide – 60mg/vial · 10-Vial Pack (Research Use Only)](https://portaltowellness.net/shop/tirzepatide-60mg-10-vial-pack/) [BPC-157 + TB-500 Injectable – 10mg/vial (5mg BPC-157 + 5mg TB-500)](https://portaltowellness.net/shop/bpc-157-tb-500-injectable/)

Related Research Guide [GLP-1 & Metabolic Research Guide](https://portaltowellness.net/metabolic-research-kit/)

Related Category [Browse: Incretin & Metabolic](https://portaltowellness.net/incretin-agonists/)

Related FAQ [General Research & Ordering FAQ](https://portaltowellness.net/faq/)

More Research [Browse the full PTW Research Hub →](https://portaltowellness.net/research/)

---

Source: https://portaltowellness.net/research/k-554-peptide-novo-kallyope/
Research use only. Terms: https://portaltowellness.net/research-use-only/
